JULY TBR

GOODREADS TBR SHELF: To keep up to date with any changes in my tbr, because yes, I’m bad at committing to it, feel free to check out my goodreads TBR shelf.

2017 NEW RELEASES

COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN

(Currently reading)- A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3)I’m not even sure if I’m ready for this. This month, I’ve already prepped myself for when I finish this book. A lot these books have been recommendations (for fans of ACOTAR), So please excuse the Fantasy saturated tbr. Check out the first book here.

 

 

BAD ROMANCE

Bad Romance

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape. 

 

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiralling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

I find I am hard to please when it comes to contemporary, I think ya romance just reminds me how I’m probably too old to read it. It kills me when I’m introduced to a character who can’t even kiss the guy, I feel like I may as well just go watch an anime.

The thing is the type of contemporary I’ve always seemed drawn to is the dark and emotional stories with a lot of depth and hard-hitting themes; like mental illness or, bad relationships. I’m a sucker for contemporary based on bad, or abusive relationships (ones that end with the to character separate of course), it feels so morbid but heck, I hope Bad Romance fills that void for me.

INTO THE WATER

Into the WaterA single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.

 

Left behind is a lonely fifteen-year-old girl. Parentless and friendless, she now finds herself in the care of her mother’s sister, a fearful stranger who has been dragged back to the place she deliberately ran from—a place to which she vowed she’d never return.

Reading adult fiction, I kind of have this weird perception of it being all about boring, slow topic that relates to people years above my age; like being an accountant or living in a retirement home.  As for thrillers, all I can think of is terrible mainstream movies. Why does my mind do this to me? Recently I came to the conclusion, I’m just going to do it. Is this a good book to start off with? I have no idea. But I do really enjoy Thrillers, I’ve just never read any other than middle grade.

ROAR

Roar (Stormheart, #1)

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them. Aur

 

ora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honourable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters”.

I feel like I might regret this one, but when I read comments like Daenerys Targaryen meets Magical storm shit, I needed to find out. Perhaps something like this might be my saviour when I finish ACOWAR and begin craving more High Fantasy.

 

SPELLSLINGER

Spellslinger (Spellslinger #1)

There are three things that earn you a man’s name among the Jan’Tep. The first is to demonstrate the strength to defend your family. The second is to prove you can perform the high magic that defines our people. The third is surviving your fourteenth year. I was a few weeks shy of my birthday when I learned that I wouldn’t be doing any of those things.

Magic is a con game.

 

Kellen is moments away from facing his first mage’s duel and the start of four trials that will make him a spellcaster. There’s just one problem: his magic is gone. As his sixteenth birthday approaches, Kellen falls back on his cunning in a bid to avoid total disgrace. But when a daring stranger arrives in town, she challenges Kellen to take a different path. Ferius Parfax is one of the mysterious Argosi – a traveller who lives by her wits and the three decks of cards she carries. She’s difficult and unpredictable, but she may be Kellen’s only hope…

I think this might be one of my favourite covers…

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE

Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1)

 

 Errand requiring immediate attention. Come.
The note was on vellum, pierced by the talons of the almost-crow that delivered it. Karou read the message. ‘He never says please’, she sighed, but she gathered up her things. When Brimstone called, she always came.

 

In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole.

 

Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought.

After contemplating 5 different books, I decided to try out the first few chapter of a few, and choose from there. Daughter Of Smoke And Bone is an epic Urban Fantasy, and 200 pages in, there is still so much to learn, but I’m so far really enjoying it.

THRONE OF GLASS

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

What not better way to finish ACOWAR with another Sarah J Maas book. Throne of glass sounds like a kick ass story with a kick ass character and I can’t wait to begin this series.

HARRY POTTER AND THE HALF BLOOD PRINCE

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter, #6) I honestly don’t understand why I never bothered to read Harry Potter. I’ve grown up with the movies and games more than I have the books (holy crap the games), even building Hogwarts on sims. It just seems so weird when I think about how attached I am to the series, yet I haven’t even finished the books. Why? I had always had the attitude as a kid that if I’ve seen the movie why read the book? I finished the first 5 books in 2 weeks (A few years back), but school and hsc had got in the way. So I’m really hoping I can bloody finish this series this year, who knows maybe in the future I might make this an annual thing.

THE  DREAM THIEVES 2#

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)

The raven boys book 1-“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on 

 

St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

 

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble. 

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Heck I love this series, Maggie Stiefvater is an amazing author and if you’re looking for some amazing literature, The Raven Boys is really worth a try.

 

BOOK UNHAUL- (Books I’ve had for so long, I’m reading to see if they need to be rid of)

CLOCKWORK ANGEL

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1) In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Timesbestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organisation of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

I have actually read the mortal instruments but I couldn’t seem to make that same attachment to it as other people have. By the third book, my mind would find itself thinking about how I should re-furnish my bedroom, or wondering if there was something actually living in my aircon. I have avoided this book for a while, but the comments stating it is better than TMI and the era it’s based in, I really want to give it a chance before I start throwing it at a charity bin.

PERCY JACKSON AND THE LIGHTNING THIEF 

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1) Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school…again. And that’s the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy’s Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he’s angered a few of them. Zeus’s master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. 

 

 
Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus’s stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.

 

And yes, I am being overly ambitious…

Leave a Reply

